Connect() Link timeout, no heartbeat in last 5 seconds

I am new to drone programming, I try running takeoff-and-land.py and method connect(connect-string, wait_ready=True, baud=57600) give me warning
Link timeout, no heartbeat in last 5 seconds following with dronekit.APIException: No heartbeat in 30 seconds, aborting.

the command is python3 takeoff-and-land.py --connect=’/dev/ttyAMA0’

I am using raspberry pi 3 B and Navio2. Mission Planer is able to connect to drone using com3.

I installed python3.5 and dronekit-2.9.1.

thanks a lot in advance!

dronekit.TimeoutError: wait_ready experienced a timeout after 30 seconds

Try replacing “ttyAMA0” with “Serial0” and see if it helps.

replacing’ ttyAMA0’ with ‘serial0’ same problem, thanks.

Hi there Amy!

Try running the takeoff_and_land.py with python instead of python3. I believe most of the dronekit side dependencies still operate with python2 primarily.

thanks, I will try. Is there any other drone SDK available which is frequently released and compatible with new version of python? thanks.

Hey Amy, did you end up solving this problem by running it with python2?

I’m having this connect() link timeout problem too when I try to run even the simplest dronekit example on my real drone. I assume there is something simple that I’m not understanding. This is what I’m trying to do:

• SSH into the drone
  • execute python connection_template.py --connect 127.0.0.1:14550

This is a screen capture of this after increasing the time out to 180 seconds

python connection_template.py --connect 127.0.0.1:14550

Link timeout, no heartbeat in last 5 seconds
…link restored.
…link restored.
…link restored.
…link restored.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “connection_template.py”, line 29, in
vehicle = connectMyCopter()
File “connection_template.py”, line 23, in connectMyCopter
vehicle = connect(connection_string, wait_ready=True, heartbeat_timeout=180)