Course material tested on Ubuntu 16.04 or 18.04

I’m new to the course, hence just getting started. In following the course material to setup a Virtual Machine with Ubuntu on my Windows 10 PC, I see both Ubuntu 16.04 and Ubuntu 18.04 mentioned. But this warning directly below in the “IMPORTANT SPFTWARE VERSION INFORMATION!” section of the course makes me not certain which version of Ubuntu Caleb developed the code in. Caleb, can you answer this question ? I’d welcome answers from anyone else as well.

IMPORTANT!! DO NOT UPGRADE TO UBUNTU 20!!

After you install and launch Ubuntu 16 on your Virtual Machine and first login, you will at some point be prompted to upgrade to Ubuntu 18.04. DO NOT DO THIS!!! The course material has only been tested on Ubuntu 16.04, and you will likely run into bugs on Ubuntu 18.04. Upgrade at your own peril

If you search this forum you will find various discussions using newer versions. Ubuntu 18.04 is ok and I’ve even played around with 20.04.

You can evaluate this:

Here is a link to install on MS WSL2

WSL2 Instead of VirtualBox?.

You might encounter conflicts later with ROS but I am still checking this

My issue is that I need to use Arudupilot 3.5.5 (AP3)for stable running on a Navio2 autopilot hat. In one course listing showing versions, I also have similar questions:
Screenshot%20from%202022-11-04%2020-45-08