Powering motors to battery

Newbie here,

So I initially had the polarities reversed for the motors (positive wires attached to negative plate [-] and negative wires attached to positive plate [+]) reasoning that it will only reverse the direction of the motors (similar to how it works with robot cars) because now the current is going the other way:

Also note that the battery was attached correctly, positive wire to positive [+] and negative wire to negative [-]. When I tried it smoke started coming out so I stopped it.

I then decided to put the polarities correctly for the motors. (positive wires attached to positive plate [+] and negative wires attached to negative plate [-]). When I put the power on there was no smoke. However, there was no current on the motor plates either. I took out a multimeter and tested that there was indeed a voltage for the battery on its positive [+] and negative [-] plates when the battery was attached. However when I did the same for the motor plates there was no voltage.

I then directly attached one motor to the battery plates and it successfully turned on (with the beep).

1. Is the reversing of polarities issue the cause why I needed to do this?
  2. a. Is there a hidden circuit inside the frame connecting the battery and motor plates together?
    b. If a. is true, then is the circuit unusable somehow?
  3. Is it ok to attach all the motor plates to the battery plates (with matching polarity) via jumper wires or do I have to worry that the internal circuit (assuming there is one) had additional resistors?

The frame plate is a simple conductor, unlike some PDBs that might include voltage regulators.
Reversing the wires might have messed up an esc. If so, you will need to replace it.

Thank you for the quick reply! I was able to verify that each motor (with the esc) does work by connecting each one separately to the battery plates through jumper wires.