Flashing firmware problem

I am new to drones and relatively new to the Raspberry Pi. I just built my Raspberry Pi drone. I was a little confused because the Raspberry that came with the kit did not have a microUSB slot. So I simply went to flash Mission Planner to the Pixhawk 2.4.8 directly via a USB connected to my laptop (independent of the Raspberry Pi) with Raspberry Pi unplugged from Telem2 just to see if I could get the props to spin.

I have Mission Planner 1.3.74 installed to my laptop. In Mission Planner went to Setup > Install Firmware > Copter 4.0.7, with the correct COM port selected and 115200 baud rate. After pressing the quadcopter Copter 4.0.7 Official icon a window popped up asking about Platform and Firmware. I selected Platform > Pixhawk1 and Firmwares > https://firmware.ardupilot/org/Copter/stable/Pixhawk1/arducopter.apj; and then pressed Upload Firmware. Note: The first time I tried this I did not have a microSD card in the Pixhawk. Everything seemed to flash correctly.

However, when I press the Connect link in the upper RH corner of the window, a new window pops up that states “Connecting Mavlink”, then to “Progress”, and then “Getting Params 1”. After everything progresses through and popup goes away, the screen states:

"You cannot load new firmware while connected via MAVLink.

Please press the Disconnect button at the top right to end the current MAVLink session and enable the firmware loading screen." (With an additional sentence with a Bootloader Update button as follows):

[Bootloader Update] Update the bootloader on your hardware to the newest available."

This is a little over my head. All that is currently plugged in to the Pixhawk is the buzzer, switch, GPS, I2C (from the GPS heading), and the power. The battery is unplugged and the Pixhawk is only getting power from the USB connection. Can someone give me some guidance on how I get properly connected and can verify that my firmware is correct?